Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Yoga Study Guide - 8 Limbs of Yoga

This weekend is a sad time because it's the last normal weekend of Yoga Teacher Training. When we meet in April - it will be for our final exam :(

that's me :)

So I really need to be more diligent in studying. There is a LOT of information to remember, and writing down is a good way for me to study. So why not use my blog (I stole this idea from one of our other teacher trainee) to study. 

Today, we're talking about the 8 limbs of Yoga. Hatha yoga consists of 8 limbs of yoga - 

1 - Yamas: the first limb of Yoga - "Be good" - the yamas guide us in how we relate to each other, our thoughts, our words, our actions 

2 - Niyamas: the second limb of Yoga - "Do good" - development of the ground rules for self discipline and inner awareness - this limb deals with attitudes towards ourselves

3 - Asanas - "Feel good" - the body serves as the temple for our soul - keep the body strong and flexible, keep mind calm and clear so the spirit can flourish, enhance physical, spiritual, mental well being

4 - Pranayama - focuses on the link between breath, mind and body. the mindful and conscious practice of breath control allows for a more vital and longer life

5 - Pratyahara - Withdrawal of sense - inner focus - the process of becoming aware of and learning to control the thought patterns

6 - Dharana - concentration - one pointedness - Tratak is an type of this (focusing on, concentrating on the flame of a candle) 

7 - Dhyana - meditation without focus on an object or subject - this focus is rooted on a deep, inner focus of awareness

8 - Samadhi - oneness - becomes one with the object of meditation

No comments:

Post a Comment